Salem High School Alumni Association, Ohio

Sustaining Friendships and Memories Since 1882








                                                                     330-3‍32-1427 -

Recognizing Generosity – Introducing SHSAA's ‘Honor Roll’

The Salem High School Alumni Association was organized in 1882 and created the first high school alumni scholarship fund in Ohio in 1903. Since 1908, our association has awarded more than $7.9 million to 2408 recipients. Thanks to generous alumni and donors over the past 138 years, the association’s portfolio stands at nearly $10 million.

In order to standardize recognition of our past and future donors for their significant gifts in advancing the mission of the association, the Salem High School Alumni Association has created the following recognition societies:

1882 Founders Society: membership for donation of funds totaling at least $500,000

Leon H. and Enid Colley

Quaker Lady Society: membership for donation of funds totaling at least $250,000

John F. Cone ’44, Ph.D.; Max M. Fisher ’26; Charles F. Fox; Frederick E. '46 and Dana A Notman Gaunt; Robert ’50 and Nancy Howell ’53 Hickey Family; J. Robert Sebo ’54; John P. Sharp Jr. ’46; Floyd W. Stone, D.D.S., and Cora May Reich Stone ’35

Quaker Sam Society: membership for donation of funds totaling at least $100,000

Joel E. Greenisen ’54; Emma Bauman Holmes ’43, Ph.D.; Howard (Doc) Pardee Family and scholarship benefactors; C. Richard and Dorothy Pozniko ’52 Beam; Florence C. Schafer ’23; Virginia E. Snyder ’43 and scholarship benefactors; John R. Stratton ’64, M.D., and Carolyn Webster-Stratton, Ph.D.; Doris Tetlow ’22; Salem High School Class of 1966; Salem High School Class of 1968

Leaders Society: membership for living donors of funds totaling at least $10,000 but less than $100,000

Nancy Cope Murphy ’58, Michele Cope Weaver ’60, and Susan Cope Guehl ’65; Philip ’61 and Marjory Greenisen; David ’66 and Kathleen Scahill Roberts ’68; and Matt Yerkey ’82, D.D.S., and Wanda Yerkey

Lifetime Society: membership for continuous annual donations of at least $100, recognized after three years of giving

Peter Apicella '82; Timothy Breit '71; Kevin '74 & Linda Bush; Cecil Chamberlain '69; Tim '78 & Melissa Moffett '78 Costa; Helen Schuller Cranmer '50; Scot Darling '80; Thomas Darling '80; Adna Day '57; Ingrid Nyberg Dorton '53; Bill & Jean Kiliman '71 Esposito; Charles '43 & Margaret Gibbs; Geoff & Kim Goll; John "Jack" Gottschling '54; Gerald Gross '49; InFaith Community Foundation; Carl W. Kaufman '52; Mary Hollinger Lepping '51; Millennium Machinery; Daniel Moore '95; M. Jay '66 & Mary Oana; Todd '81 & Julie Olson; Tom & Carol Keener '58 Patterson; Steven Sabol '62; Mark '78 & Wendy Storey '77 Saltsman; Bob '54 & Linda Sebo; Robert Sekely '77; Joe '66 & Madeline Patton '77 Shivers; Carole Shone Stein-Allison '57; William Urbanowicz '48; Bonnie Youtz Verminski '64; Robert Woolman '99; Matt Yerkey ’82, D.D.S., and Wanda Yerkey; Frank '82 & Glory Zamarelli; and Jeff '81 & Jennifer Secrest '82 Zimmerman

Legacy Society: membership for living individuals who commit to leave a legacy through estate planning and complete our Legacy Acknowledgement document (please contact us if we are in your estate planning)

Tim '78 & Melissa Moffett '78 Costa

Memorial Society: membership for deceased individuals or families who have given or bequeathed funds, or for whom memorial donations have been made, totaling at least $10,000 but less than $100,000

Ruth Ann Altenhof ’53; D. Nelson and Marion Bailey; John George Birk ’36; Burt (Carl) ’42 and Mary Capel; Fred E. ’25 and Doris S. Cope; Richard M. Coppock '56; Mary Anderson Dunn 1897; Wade ’29 and Stella Loop; William Guappone ’35; Harold F. Hoprich ’38, M.D.; Betsy Young Johnson ’59; David W. Jones ’43, M.D.; Henry ’37 and Aliliva Juhn; Joseph F. Kelley ’45, M.D.; Jack B. Lozier ’48; John Mulford Sr. 1917; Donald and Betty Roessler ’42 Greenamyer; Mildred Barber Schuster ’33; J. Floyd Stamp ’32; Dorothy Failer Sullivan 1921; Eleanor Szkola ’37; Olive Tetlow; Harvey Walken ’46; Edith Lynn White 1917; and Eugene ’27 and Virginia Young

The association’s Academic Merit Scholarships are provided through the generous donations of all donors to the Salem High School Alumni Association.

The association’s endowed Named Scholarships are bestowed in recognition of donation of funds totaling $100,000.

Charles F. Fox Medical Scholarship; Doris Tetlow Scholarship; Emma Bauman Holmes Vocational Scholarship; Florence C. Schafer Scholarship; Floyd and Cora May Reich Stone Vocational Scholarship; Greenisen College Leadership Scholarship; Greenisen Leadership Scholarship; Hickey Metal Fabrication Vocational Scholarship; Howard (Doc) Pardee Instrumental Music Scholarship; J. Robert Sebo Achievement Scholarship; J. Robert Sebo Bowling Green State University Scholarship; J. Robert Sebo College Scholarship; John F. Cone Humanities Scholarship; John Michael Pozniko Engineering Scholarship; John P. Sharp Jr. Engineering Scholarship; John P. Sharp Jr. Entrepreneurship Scholarship; John P. Sharp Jr. Outstanding Performance Scholarship; John P. Sharp Jr. Scholarship of Promise; John R. Stratton and Carolyn Webster-Stratton Medical Student Scholarship; Leon H. Colley Scholarship; Lois A. Peters Memorial Business Scholarship; Max M. Fisher Athletic Scholarship; Nancy Hickey Memorial Healthcare Scholarship; Nina J. Cone and Stephen F. Cone Music Scholarship; Salem High School Class of 1966 Scholarship; Salem High School Class of 1968 Scholarship; and Virginia E. Snyder Scholarship

Please notify the SHSAA office if you feel a correction is needed in any of these lists.

For more information, please contact us at 330-332-1427.

Our Gift and Recognition Policy is available HERE. Our Legacy Acknowledgement document is available HERE.