Salem High School Alumni Association, Ohio

Sustaining Friendships and Memories Since 1882








                                                                     330-3‍32-1427 -

Donations to the Salem High School Alumni Association

The Salem High School Alumni Association is a charitable institution whose mission is to recognize and award scholarships to deserving Salem High School graduates. Over the years, thousands of donors have given to the association in memory of classmates and teachers, in recognition of a special person or occasion, in commemoration of their class reunions, or as a bequest in a will. These donations are listed in the biannual newsletter and are the bedrock of the association. Every donation is welcomed and appreciated. 

Donations that exceeded $100,000 have been honored with a named scholarship or award either in the name(s) of the donor(s) or in the name requested by the donor(s).  These donors are Max Fisher '26; Doris Tetlow '22; Florence Schafer '23; Dr. Floyd and Cora May Reich '35 Stone; Dr. Emma Bauman Holmes '43; Virginia "Jinny" Snyder '43; Dr. John Frederick Cone '44; Linda and John P. Sharp Jr. '46; Robert '50 and Nancy '53 Howell Hickey and their family; C. Richard and Dorothy Pozniko '52 Beam; J. Robert Sebo '54; Joel Greenisen '54; Philip '61 & Marjory Greenisen; Dr. John Stratton ’64 and Dr. Carolyn Webster-Stratton; friends, family, and former students of long-time band director Howard "Doc" Pardee; members of the Salem High School Class of 1966; members of the SHS Class of 1968; Leon H. Colley; and Charles Fox.

Deceased donors whose contributions exceeded $10,000, or in whose name donations exceeding $10,000 were made, but did not reach the threshold for a named scholarship are honored with the Memorial Book Award.  These are Mary Anderson Dunn (Class of 1897);  Edith Lynn White (1917); John Mulford Sr. (1917); Dorothy Failer Sullivan '21; Fred E. '25 and Doris S. Cope ; Eugene '27 and Virginia Young; Wade '29 and Stella Loop; J. Floyd Stamp '32  ; Mildred Barber Schuster '33; William Guappone '35; John George Birk '36; Henry '37 and Aliliva Juhn; Eleanor Szkola '37; Dr. and Mrs. Harold F. Hoprich '38;  Mary and B. Carl '42 Capel; Donald and Betty Roessler '42 Greenamyer; Dr. David W. Jones '43; Dr. Joseph Kelley '45; Harvey Walken '46; Jack B. Lozier '48; Ruth Ann Altenhof '53; Richard M. Coppock '56; Betsy Young Johnson '59; and Olive Tetlow. 

 In 2019 the board created seven 'societies' in order to standardize the recognition of significant donations.  The societies and their members will be listed in the SHSAA annual publication, displayed in the SHSAA office lobby, and shown online at this website. (Currently, the list of the societies and their members may be seen on the Home page.)

Click HERE to Donate.

Please call us with questions: 330-332-1427.

All tax-deductible donations will be acknowledged.